link to University of Utah Home link to Marriott Library Home
Off Campus Access - Log In
Article Databases -- Marriott Library -- The University of Utah

Select Database by Title

Government Documents

For General Research on This Subject, Our Librarians Recommend:

Help

CQ Researcher

  • Coverage: 1923 - Current
  • Access: UALC
  • Purchased By: UALC
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
The CQ Researcher publishes reports 44 times a year that offer in-depth single-topic coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Each CQ Researcher report is investigated and written by a seasoned journalist. Editors identify the topic to be investigated, then the writer conceives its content, formulating the key questions that it will seek to answer; reads background material; interviews a range of sources; synthesizes available information; and writes the report. The report's writer quotes a range of sources, including lawmakers, academics, interest group representatives, government officials as well as citizens involved in the issue. The report concludes with a bibliography that contains an annotated list of key sources.

For further assistance, consult a subject guide.

Help

Agricola

  • Coverage: 1970 - Current
  • Access: UALC
  • Purchased By: Pioneer
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
This database contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. Agricola contains more than 4.8 million citations, which are comprised of journal articles, book chapters, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture. Agricola encompasses agriculture and many allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, agricultural engineering and technology, and earth and environmental sciences. Note: This database pulls much of its data from the USDA/NAL Agricola website (for which it is named), and search results will be similar, but this site is the EBSCO version and has access to other EBSCO resources.
Help

American Factfinder

  • Coverage: Current
  • Access: Freely Available
  • Purchased By: Free
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
This database is hosted by the United States Census Bureau and provides access to a variety of U.S. Census datasets, including the Decennial Census, American Community Survey, Puerto Rico Community Survey, annual population estimates, and the Economic Census. The datasets are comprised of a variety of statistics relating to the United States' population, including distributions of age, race, education, income, family size, spoken languages, and more. Most datasets can be used to compare local data to the national averages, with new data being added periodically as new surveys and censuses are conducted.
Help

CIA World Factbook

  • Coverage: Current
  • Access: Freely Available
  • Purchased By: Free
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
The CIA World Factbook is a publication of the United States Government that provides data on over 250 countries, including maps and flags, geographic data, population overviews, government data, economic summaries, as well as communication, transportation, military, and transnational issue information. Information on the Factbook's website is updated frequently, and all information contained in the database is in the public domain (as it is a work of the United States Government).
Congressional Publications
- See: ProQuest Congressional Publications
Help

CQ Researcher

  • Coverage: 1923 - Current
  • Access: UALC
  • Purchased By: UALC
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
The CQ Researcher publishes reports 44 times a year that offer in-depth single-topic coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Each CQ Researcher report is investigated and written by a seasoned journalist. Editors identify the topic to be investigated, then the writer conceives its content, formulating the key questions that it will seek to answer; reads background material; interviews a range of sources; synthesizes available information; and writes the report. The report's writer quotes a range of sources, including lawmakers, academics, interest group representatives, government officials as well as citizens involved in the issue. The report concludes with a bibliography that contains an annotated list of key sources.
Help

Digital National Security Archive

  • Coverage: Varies by Collection
  • Access: University of Utah
  • Purchased By: Marriott Library
  • Maximum Users: 4
The Digital National Security Archive provides access to a collection of significant primary documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945. Over 55,000 declassified documents (totaling more than 420,000 pages) are included in the database, separated into over 20 subject-specific collections. The database is produced by the National Security Archive, which is a non-profit research institute and library in Washington, D.C. that provides public access to declassified government documents obtained through extensive use of the U.S. Freedom of Information Act (FOIA).
Help

FedBizOpps

  • Coverage: Current
  • Access: University of Utah
  • Purchased By: University of Utah
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
FedBizOpps (FBO) allows federal buyers to publish federal business opportunities across departments/agencies and allows vendors to find them. Patrons can interact directly with the FBO system via its web interface, and FedBizOpps also provides a data exchange interface between FBO and each buyer agency's electronic procurement system.
Help

Federal Register

  • Coverage: Current
  • Access: Freely Available
  • Purchased By: Free
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
The Federal Register is a service from the United States Government Printing Office (GPO) that provides a uniform system for making available regulations and legal notices issued by Federal agencies. These include Presidential proclamations, Executive Orders and Federal agency documents which have general applicability and legal effect, documents required to be published by act of Congress and other Federal agency documents of public interest.
Help

Government Periodicals Index

  • Coverage: 1988 - Current
  • Access: University of Utah
  • Purchased By: Marriott Library
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
The Government Periodicals Index provides indexing and links to full-text articles from over 300 periodicals published by agencies and departments of the United States federal government. Subjects covered by this database include diplomacy and foreign relations, health and public safety, military organizations, labor, law and justice, agriculture, education, census and demographics, public lands, game reserves, national parks, and more.
Help

HeinOnline

  • Coverage: Varies by Title
  • Access: University of Utah
  • Purchased By: Quinney Library
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
HeinOnline is a database of searchable full-text content from four library collections: the Law Journal Library, the Federal Register Library, the Treaties and Agreements Library, and the U.S. Supreme Court Library. Coverage extends from the 18th century to the present, and varies by collection.
Help

Historical Statistics of the United States

  • Coverage: Current
  • Access: University of Utah
  • Purchased By: Marriott Library
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
This database focuses on topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America, with an emphasis on providing quantitative facts in a historical context. The data is fully cross-referenced and indexed, and organized into a series of tables. These tables can be customized and downloaded as Excel or CSV files, and links are provided to related documentation and essays. Access to archival content for this dataset from the U.S. Census Bureau is available.
Legislative Insight
- See: ProQuest Legislative Insight
Help

Military and Government Collection

  • Coverage: Varies by Title
  • Access: UALC
  • Purchased By: Pioneer
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
This database provides access to information pertaining to the military and government via a collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content. The collection provides the full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals, as well as indexing and abstracts for more than 400 journals. Publications covered in this database include Air Force Comptroller, Defence Studies, JFQ: Joint Force Quarterly, Military Technology, Combat Edge, FBI Law Enforcement Bulletin, Foreign Affairs, Naval Forces, and more.
NACA Reports
- See: TRAIL
National Security Archive
- See: Digital National Security Archive
Help

PAIS International

  • Coverage: 1972 - Current
  • Access: University of Utah
  • Purchased By: Marriott Library
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
This database is a bibliographic index of public policy, social policy, and social sciences literature. Materials indexed by the database include journal articles, books, government documents, statistical compilations, committee reports, directories, serials, reports of public, intergovernmental, and private organizations, and other forms of printed literature from around the world. Access also is available to the PAIS archive, which covers 1915-1976.
Help

ProQuest Congressional Publications

  • Coverage: Current
  • Access: University of Utah
  • Purchased By: Marriott Library
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
ProQuest Congressional Publications provides access to historical and current Congressional information and publications on many aspects of legislation dealing with life and public policy. The collection includes selected full-text records for Congressional Committee Prints, House and Senate Documents and Reports, Hearings, and Legislative Histories. It also provides member and committee information and political news, as well as access to the Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, and the Congressional Record. Topics include scientific undertakings, historical events, social welfare, economic conditions, communication policies, and many others.
Help

ProQuest Legislative Insight

  • Coverage: 1929 - Current
  • Access: UALC
  • Purchased By: UALC
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
This database provides access to tens of thousands of legislative histories covering laws from 1929 to the present. Thousands of these include new research. PDF documents included with the public laws include bills (all versions), legislative reports, documents, CRS reports, committee prints, speeches in the Congressional Record, and presidential signing statements.
Help

Regional Economic Accounts

  • Coverage: Current
  • Access: University of Utah
  • Purchased By: Free
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
This database provides statistics about gross domestic product, personal income, employment, compensation, wage and salary disbursements, personal current transfer receipts, personal current taxes, farm income and expenses, and per capita personal income statistics for states, counties, and metropolitan areas.
Help

Statistical Abstract of the United States

  • Coverage: Current
  • Access: University of Utah
  • Purchased By: University of Utah
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
NOTE: This database has been canceled as of January 31st, 2014.

The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a source for social, political, and economic statistics of the United States, originally provided by the United States Census Bureau. It contains a variety of statistical information about many aspects of the United States, including coverage of health, employment, population, business, education, and more. Data collection for the Census Bureau's version of the Statistical Abstract was halted in October 2011, and their version is no longer updated - this version of the Statistical Abstract is produced and hosted by ProQuest. Access to the Census Bureau's version, which includes archival content, is also available.

Help

TRAIL

  • Coverage: Varies
  • Access: Freely Available
  • Purchased By: Marriott Library
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
TRAIL is a collaborative project to digitize, archive, and provide persistent and unrestricted access to federal technical reports issued prior to 1975. The TRAIL project was initiated in 2005 by engineering and government document librarians (including the University of Utah). The project has since expanded and is now a nationwide workflow among over 30 institutional partners. As of April 2011 more than 30,000 documents have been scanned, cataloged and added to the repository. U.S. federal agencies included in the collection so far are the Bureau of Mines, National Bureau of Standards, Atomic Energy Commission, Saline Waters, and NACA (National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics). The collection is constantly expanding to include additional agencies.
Help

TRID

  • Coverage: Varies
  • Access: University of Utah
  • Purchased By: Free
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
TRID provides access to a variety of bibliographic data related to transportation research. The database is produced and maintained by the Transportation Research Board of the US National Academies and contains over 900,000 research records, over 64,000 of which link to full-text articles. Subjects covered by TRID include Highways, Transit, Railroads, Maritime, Aviation, Pipelines, Pedestrian, Bicycles, Planning, Construction, Design, Safety, Environmental Issues, and more.
Help

United Nations Official Documents System (ODS)

  • Coverage: 1946 - Present
  • Access: Freely Available
  • Purchased By: Free
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
The United Nations Official Document System (ODS) is a system that allows users to search for and retrieve the full text of UN parliamentary documents (including resolutions and decisions) issued at United Nations Headquarters in New York and the United Nations Office in Geneva since 1993 as well as at the United Nations Office in Vienna since 1997. Many other divisions of the UN include their official documents in this system, which currently contains over 1 million files in total. Approximately 100,000 new documents are added yearly, and older documents are added to the collection on a regular basis.
Help

United Nations Treaty Collection

  • Coverage: 1946 - Current
  • Access: Freely Available
  • Purchased By: Free
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
This database provides access to a collection of treaties and international agreements registered, filed, and/or published by the UN Secretariat since 1946. The collection includes the texts of treaties in their authentic language(s), along with translations into English and French, as appropriate. The collection currently contains over 158,000 treaties and related subsequent actions and is added to regularly.
Help

United States Congressional Documents

  • Coverage: 1780 - Present
  • Access: University of Utah
  • Purchased By: Marriott Library
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
The U.S. Congressional Documents Collection provides access to a large collection of information and documents related to the United States Congress. Records of debates, proceedings, speeches, treaties, and more are included. Each record is available as a full-text, searchable PDF, and the collection is updated frequently with new information.
United States Government Periodicals Index
- See: Government Periodicals Index

USPTO Patent Databases

  • Coverage: Current
  • Access: Freely Available
  • Purchased By: Free
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
This is the homepage of the the United States Patent and Trademark Office's free patent databases, including a browsable display of every US patent from 1790 to the present, the US Patent Bibliographic Database, all US Published Applications from 2001 to the present; and the AIDS Patent database.
Help

Web of Science

  • Coverage: 1975 - Current
  • Access: Marriott Library
  • Purchased By: Marriott Library
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
NOTE: To access this database, you must come to the Marriott Library and use one of the library computers.

Web of Science is a multidisciplinary content database which covers over 12,000 journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 150,000 conference proceedings. Current and retrospective coverage is provided for the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.

J. Willard Marriott Library

Latest Tweets

Flickr Photo Stream

Find the Marriott Library on: