link to University of Utah Home link to Marriott Library Home
Off Campus Access - Log In
Article Databases -- Marriott Library -- The University of Utah

Select Database by Title

U

For further assistance, consult a subject guide.

Help

UlrichsWeb Global Serials Directory

  • Coverage: Current
  • Access: University of Utah
  • Purchased By: Marriott Library
  • Maximum Users: 4
The Global Serials Directory provides a variety of information about journals, periodicals, and serials, including name, address, pricing, and publishing information. All entries are searchable by title, subject, language, and vendor.
Help

Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels

  • Coverage: 1960's - Current
  • Access: University of Utah
  • Purchased By: Marriott Library
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels is a primary source database focusing on adult comic books and graphic novels, beginning with underground comix from the 1960's to the works of modern sequential artists. The collection contains more than 75,000 pages of comics and graphic novels, along with 25,000 pages of related interviews, criticism, and journal articles.
Help

United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics (UN COMTRADE)

  • Coverage: 1962 - Current
  • Access: University of Utah
  • Purchased By: Marriott Library
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
The United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics Database (UN Comtrade) contains detailed imports and exports statistics reported by statistical authorities of nearly 200 countries and areas. The database covers annual trade data from 1962 to the present, and is updated regularly - as new trade datasets are received from national authorities, they are standardized by the UN Statistics Division and then added to UN Comtrade. The collection currently contains over 1 billion records.
Help

United Nations Official Documents System (ODS)

  • Coverage: 1946 - Present
  • Access: Freely Available
  • Purchased By: Free
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
The United Nations Official Document System (ODS) is a system that allows users to search for and retrieve the full text of UN parliamentary documents (including resolutions and decisions) issued at United Nations Headquarters in New York and the United Nations Office in Geneva since 1993 as well as at the United Nations Office in Vienna since 1997. Many other divisions of the UN include their official documents in this system, which currently contains over 1 million files in total. Approximately 100,000 new documents are added yearly, and older documents are added to the collection on a regular basis.
Help

United Nations Treaty Collection

  • Coverage: 1946 - Current
  • Access: Freely Available
  • Purchased By: Free
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
This database provides access to a collection of treaties and international agreements registered, filed, and/or published by the UN Secretariat since 1946. The collection includes the texts of treaties in their authentic language(s), along with translations into English and French, as appropriate. The collection currently contains over 158,000 treaties and related subsequent actions and is added to regularly.
Help

United States Congressional Documents

  • Coverage: 1780 - Present
  • Access: University of Utah
  • Purchased By: Marriott Library
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
The U.S. Congressional Documents Collection provides access to a large collection of information and documents related to the United States Congress. Records of debates, proceedings, speeches, treaties, and more are included. Each record is available as a full-text, searchable PDF, and the collection is updated frequently with new information.
United States Government Periodicals Index
- See: Government Periodicals Index
Help

United States Serial Set + Serial Set Maps

  • Coverage: Serials Set 1789 - 2003 ; Maps 1789 - 1969
  • Access: University of Utah
  • Purchased By: University of Utah
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
This database provides access to the United States Serial Set and the Serial Set Maps collection. The Serial Set is a collection of government publications (beginning with the American State Papers in 1789) which includes reports and documents produced or ordered by Congress, as well as presidential communications and treaty materials through 2003. It covers many aspects of American life, including agriculture, history, science, politics, international relations, business and manufacturing. The collection also includes Congressional legislative reports that provide insight into the legislative intent of laws enacted before 1979. The Serial Set Maps collection includes over 56,000 historical maps from the Serial Set, about half of which are high-resolution color scans. The collection features maps from the exploratory surveys of the 19th Century, battlefield maps, and maps depicting water resources, wilderness areas, and public works. Also included are Army Corps of Engineers and Geological Survey maps through the 1960s, as well as historic soil and population maps.

USpace

  • Coverage: Varies
  • Access: Freely Available
  • Purchased By: Free
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
USpace (the University of Utah's Institutional Repository Initiative) is a collaborative project between the libraries at the University of Utah and the University community which collects and archives the intellectual capital of the institution and make these scholarly materials freely available on the Internet.

USPTO Patent Databases

  • Coverage: Current
  • Access: Freely Available
  • Purchased By: Free
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
This is the homepage of the the United States Patent and Trademark Office's free patent databases, including a browsable display of every US patent from 1790 to the present, the US Patent Bibliographic Database, all US Published Applications from 2001 to the present; and the AIDS Patent database.
Help

Utah Newspapers (Digital Archive)

  • Coverage: Varies by Title
  • Access: Freely Available
  • Purchased By: Free
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
NOTE: This is an archival service. For access to current newspapers, see the 'Newsearch' entry below.

This is an archive of local Utah newspapers from the late 18th to early 20th centuries. They are fully searchable and are presented as they appeared at the time.

Utah Newspapers (Newsearch)

  • Coverage: Varies by Title
  • Access: University of Utah
  • Purchased By: UALC
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
NOTE: New issues of newspapers are added to this database two weeks after their original publication date.

The Utah Newsearch is a digital newspaper service from the Utah Press Association. It provides public access to all of Utah's newspapers. Issues are presented as full-text, searchable PDFs which can be viewed online or downloaded for later use. Newspaper holdings can be searched by keyword or filtered by newspaper, city, county, or zip code.