link to University of Utah Home link to Marriott Library Home
Off Campus Access - Log In
Article Databases -- Marriott Library -- The University of Utah

Select Database by Title

E

For further assistance, consult a subject guide.

Help

Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans 1639-1800

  • Coverage: 1639 - 1800
  • Access: University of Utah
  • Purchased By: Marriott Library
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
Early American Imprints: Series I is a microform collection that is based on the American Bibliography by Charles Evans and Roger Bristol's Supplement to American Bibliography. The collection was first published by Readex in cooperation with the American Antiquarian Society (AAS). The collection is focused on early American history, literature, philosophy, religion, and more, and covers subjects related to life in 17th- and 18th-century America, such as agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, witchcraft, and many others.
Help

Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures and the Environment

  • Coverage: 1534 - 1850
  • Access: University of Utah
  • Purchased By: Marriott Library
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
Early Encounters in North America contains 1,482 authors and over 100,000 pages of letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early American encounters which document the relationships among peoples in North America from 1534 to 1850. The collection focuses on personal accounts and provides unique perspectives from all of the protagonists, including traders, slaves missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples, and officials, both men and women. Because of the way the collection is indexed, it is possible to retrieve information about a number of historical relationships. For example, you can identify all encounters between the French and the Huron between 1650 and 1700.
Help

Early English Books Online (EEBO)

  • Coverage: 1475 - 1700
  • Access: University of Utah
  • Purchased By: Marriott Library
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
Early English Books Online contains over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475 - 1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641 - 1700), and the Thomason Tracts (1640 - 1661). The collection primarily features digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473 - 1700, from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
Help

ebrary

  • Coverage: Varies
  • Access: University of Utah
  • Purchased By: Marriott Library
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
ebrary provides access to a catalog of over 40,000 ebooks, and includes a number of sub-collections such as Academic Complete, which contains a multidisciplinary library of more than 52,000 titles in a variety of subjects, the Byron Hoyt Sheet Music Collection of more than 9,000 sheet music titles for bands, orchestras, instrumentalists and vocalists of all levels, and a selection of over 3000 titles from the National Academies Press. Subjects covered by ebrary include Business, Economics, Computer Science, Education, History, Political Science, Engineering, Languages and Literature, Law, Medicine, Religion, Sociology, Psychology, Linguistics, Social Work, and many others. ebrary also hosts the majority of the University of Utah's purchased ebooks.
Help

EBSCO eBooks

  • Coverage: Current
  • Access: UALC
  • Purchased By: UALC
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
Provides access to a collection of eBooks from over 60 publishers, including Springer, Taylor & Francis and Wiley InterScience. The collection covers a variety of subjects, and allows users to search, cite, browse, and read the full text of the eBooks online, and in some cases (when permission is available) download eBooks for offline reading.
Help

EBSCOhost Databases

  • Coverage: Varies
  • Access: UALC
  • Purchased By: Pioneer
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
This listing provides access to all of the databases that the University of Utah subscribes to through EBSCOhost. Many are also listed elsewhere on our list of databases, but this serves as a common access point to all of them. The number of databases listed here may change as the University adds or removes EBSCOhost content from our collections. For more information about the databases that EBSCOhost provides access to, open this list and then click on the 'More Information' button next to any of the individual databases.
Help

EconLit

  • Coverage: 1969 - Current
  • Access: University of Utah
  • Purchased By: Marriott Library
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
EconLit, the American Economic Association's electronic database, is a source of references to economic literature, providing citations and abstracts to economic research dating back to 1886. It provides links to full-text articles in all fields of economics, including capital markets, country studies, econometrics, economic forecasting, environmental economics, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, urban economics, and more. EconLit uses the JEL classification system and controlled vocabulary of keywords to index six types of records: journal articles, books, collective volume articles, dissertations, working papers, and full-text book reviews from the Journal of Economic Literature. The database contains over 1.1 million records, with more being added over time.
Help

Education Full Text + ERIC

  • Coverage: 1996 - Current
  • Access: UALC
  • Purchased By: UALC
  • Maximum Users: 20 (Statewide)
This listing provides access to the combined content of EBSCO's ERIC and Education Full Text databases. ERIC (The Education Resources Information Center) focuses on education literature and resources. ERIC lists citations and abstracts for over 1,000 comprehensively indexed educational and education-related journals, as well as annotated bibliographic records, including journal articles, books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and other education-related materials. The database contains more than 1,194,000 records and links to more than 200,000 full-text documents from ERIC. Education Full Text (EFT) provides coverage of an international range of English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks. EFT contains the full text of articles with indexing cover to cover from hundreds of journals. Coverage includes about 79 journals (37 with full text) not covered by ERIC’s CIJE. PDF page images accompany full text articles, offering both words and images. Subjects covered by these databases include Adult Education, Arts, Athletics, Comparative Education, Competency-Based Education, Computers in Education, Continuing Education, Educational Technology, Elementary Education, Government Funding, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Library Science, Literacy Standards, Multicultural/Ethnic Education, Parent-Teacher Relations, Prayer in Public Schools, Preschool Education, Religious Education, School Administration, Science and Mathematics, Secondary Education, Special Education, Student Counseling, Teacher Education, Teacher Evaluation, Teaching Methods, and Vocational Education.

EECS Technical Reports

  • Coverage: Varies
  • Access: Freely Available
  • Purchased By: Free
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
The EECS Technical Memorandum Series provides a dated archive of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science (EECS) research. It includes Ph.D. theses and master's reports as well as technical documents that complement traditional publication media such as journals. For example, technical reports may document work in progress, early versions of results that are eventually published in more traditional media, and supplemental information such as long proofs, software documentation, code listings, or elaborated examples. Technical reports listed here include the EECS Technical Report series (started in October 2005), the CS Technical Report series (from 1982 to 2005), and the ERL Technical report series (from 1984 to 2005, plus selected titles from before 1984). The full text is included for the EECS and CS series, but not for the ERL series.
Help

eHRAF World Cultures

  • Coverage: Varies
  • Access: University of Utah
  • Purchased By: Marriott Library
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
eHRAF World Cultures is a collection of thousands of books and articles on cultures from all regions of the world. The database may be used to find information on particular cultures, ethnic groups, or immigrant groups, and it may be used to find information on beliefs, superstitions, or subjects such as political structure, architecture, kinship units, or settlement patterns. The collections are organized around two thesauri: the Outline of World Cultures (OWC) and the Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM). The OWC thesaurus is vocabulary-ordered by regions and subregions of over 2,200 cultures around the world, and HRAF uses the OWC thesaurus to select cultures to include in the eHRAF World Cultures collection. The OCM is a subject thesaurus with nearly 800 entries and over 10,000 index entries. Every paragraph in every document in the eHRAF Collection is indexed with OCM subjects.
Help

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)

  • Coverage: Varies
  • Access: University of Utah
  • Purchased By: Marriott Library
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
This database provides access to a large collection of English and foreign-language literature printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with thousands of works from the Americas. The collection is focused on The American Revolution, The French Revolution and The Industrial Revolution. Works by both well-known and lesser-known authors of the period are included as well as contemporary works that analyze and debate those titles. Materials contained in the database include books, directories, bibles, sheet music, sermons, and pamphlets. This listing also includes access to the Burney Collection, which contains a number of newspapers from the 17th and 18th centuries.
Help

Encyclopaedia of Islam

  • Coverage: Current
  • Access: University of Utah
  • Purchased By: Marriott Library
  • Maximum Users: 3
The Encyclopaedia of Islam provides access to articles on distinguished Muslims and their tribes and dynasties, crafts and sciences, political and religious institutions, their history, and information about the geography, ethnography, flora and fauna, topography and monuments of their major towns, cities and countries. The encyclopaedia is focused historically and geographically on the old Arabo-Islamic empire, the Islamic countries of Iran, Central Asia, the Indian sub-continent and Indonesia, the Ottoman Empire and all other Islamic countries.
Help

Encyclopedia Britannica

  • Coverage: Current
  • Access: University of Utah
  • Purchased By: Marriott Library
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
Encyclopedia Britannica provides access to the online content of the Encyclopedia Britannica, which is a scholarly, English-language encyclopedia aimed at educated adults, and written by about 100 full-time editors and more than 4,000 expert contributors. The content of the Encyclopedia is updated regularly as new information is added.
Help

Encyclopedia of Atmospheric Sciences

  • Coverage: Current
  • Access: University of Utah
  • Purchased By: Marriott Library
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
The Encyclopedia of Atmospheric Sciences covers many aspects of atmospheric sciences, including both theory and applications. It currently contains over 350 articles, as well as over 1,900 figures and photographs. The Encyclopedia is aimed at academia, government, and industry in the fields of atmospheric, ocean, and environmental sciences and is written at a level that allows undergraduate students to understand the material while providing active researchers with updates on information in the field.
Encyclopedia of Communication Online
- See: International Encyclopedia of Communication
Help

Encyclopedia of Life

  • Coverage: Current
  • Access: University of Utah
  • Purchased By: Free
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
This database is a collaboration between several institutions (Biodiversity Heritage Library, Field Museum of Natural History, Harvard University, Marine Biological Laboratory, Missouri Botanical Garden and Smithsonian Institution) and many contributors, which focus on describing the approximate 1.8 million known species of life on earth. Information on a given species will usually include taxonomy, geographic distribution, collections, genetics, evolutionary history, morphology, behavior, ecological relationships, and importance for human well being. The encyclopedia is an ongoing project with new species and information being continuously added.
Help

EndNote Basic

  • Coverage: Current
  • Access: University of Utah
  • Purchased By: Marriott Library
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
User Registration Required (Free)

EndNote Basic is a service designed to help students and researchers through the process of writing a research paper. EndNote Basic helps organize and format references, create footnotes or a bibliography, and collect other information related to a user's research. EndNote Basic requires users to register - since its purpose is to organize personalized research information, each user must sign into a personal account before using the service.
Help

Energy Citations Database (ECD)

  • Coverage: 1943 - Current
  • Access: Freely Available
  • Purchased By: Free
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
The Energy Citations Database (ECD) provides free access to over 2.6 million science research citations, and is regularly expanded through regular updates. There are over 221,000 electronic documents, primarily from 1943 forward, available via the database. Citations and documents are made publicly available by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE). The ECD includes scientific and technical research results in disciplines of interest to the DOE such as chemistry, physics, materials, environmental science, geology, engineering, mathematics, climatology, oceanography, and computer science. It includes bibliographic citations to report literature, conference papers, journal articles, books, dissertations, and patents.
Help

Engineering Village

  • Coverage: Varies by Database
  • Access: University of Utah
  • Purchased By: Marriott Library
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
This link provides access to the content of two databases from Engineering Village, Compendex and Inspec. Compendex is a bibliographic database of engineering research which contains over ten million references and abstracts taken from over 6,000 scholarly journals, trade magazines, conference proceedings and technical papers. The subjects covered by this database include nuclear technology, bioengineering, transportation, chemical and process engineering, light and optical technology, agricultural engineering and food technology, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, control, civil, mechanical, materials, petroleum, aerospace and automotive engineering as well as narrower subtopics within all these and other major engineering fields. More than 650,000 new records are added to the database annually from over 190 disciplines and major specialties within engineering. Compendex is updated weekly. Inspec is a bibliographic database providing access to scientific literature in electrical engineering, electronics, physics, control engineering, information technology, communications, computers, computing, and manufacturing and production engineering. The database contains over 11.2 million bibliographic records from scientific and technical journals and conference proceedings. Approximately 600,000 new records are added to the database annually. Inspec's online coverage is from 1969 to the present, and records are updated weekly.
Help

Entrez, the Life Sciences Search Engine

  • Coverage: Varies
  • Access: Freely Available
  • Purchased By: Free
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
Entrez is an integrated, text-based search and retrieval system used at the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) for searching major databases, including PubMed, Nucleotide and Protein Sequences, Protein Structures, Complete Genomes, Taxonomy, and others. It can be used to retrieve a variety of information on subjects related to the life sciences.
Help

ERIC

  • Coverage: 1966 - Current
  • Access: UALC
  • Purchased By: Free
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
ERIC (The Education Resources Information Center) focuses on education literature and resources. ERIC lists citations and abstracts for over 1,000 comprehensively indexed educational and education-related journals, as well as annotated bibliographic records, including journal articles, books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and other education-related materials. This version of ERIC is also linked to the content of related EBSCO databases, so that results from other resources can be found along with resources from ERIC. Access to the free version of ERIC produced by the U.S. Department of Education is also available.
Help

Essay and General Literature Index

  • Coverage: 1985 - Current
  • Access: University of Utah
  • Purchased By: Marriott Library
  • Maximum Users: 1
This database provides access to over 70,000 essays contained in more than 7,000 anthologies and collections. The database contains over 300 collections which are indexed annually, plus more than 20 selected annuals and serials. Coverage spans the a range of subjects in the humanities and social sciences, including literary works, art history, drama, and film.
Help

Ethnic NewsWatch

  • Coverage: 1990 - Current
  • Access: UALC
  • Purchased By: UALC
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
Ethnic NewsWatch (ENW) features newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing access to their perspectives. With titles dating from 1990, ENW presents a full-text collection of more than 300 publications offering both national and regional coverage. The collection contains publications from Asian-American, Jewish, African-American, Native-American, Arab-American, Eastern-European, and multi-ethnic communities. Titles include New York Amsterdam News, Asian Week, Jewish Exponent, Seminole Tribune, and more. A majority of the content is exclusive to ENW and not available in any other database. Of the more than 1.6 million articles contained in the collection, nearly a quarter are presented in Spanish. Dozens of major Latino publications are featured, including El Nuevo Herald, El Diario/La Prensa, and Mundo Hispánico.
Help

Ethnographic Video Online

  • Coverage: Varies
  • Access: University of Utah
  • Purchased By: Marriott Library
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
Ethnographic Video Online provides access to a collection of resources for the study of human culture and behavior featuring (at completion) over 1,000 films for more than 750 hours of video. The collection covers many regions of the world and features the work of a variety of influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more.
Help

Europeana, Europe's Multimedia

  • Coverage: Current
  • Access: Freely Available
  • Purchased By: Free
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
Europeana is a collection of the digital resources of Europe's museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections. More than 15 million items are found in Europeana's database, including paintings, drawings, maps, photos, pictures of museum objects, books, newspapers, letters, diaries, archival papers, music and spoken word from cylinders, tapes, discs and radio broadcasts, and videos such as films, newsreels and TV broadcasts. Some items and topics are famous, like Isaac Newton's book about the Laws of Motion, the drawings of Leonardo da Vinci, or objects related to the Berlin Wall. Others are lesser-known works from obscure or unpopular creators. Around 1500 institutions have contributed to Europeana, including the British Library in London, the Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam and the Louvre in Paris as well as a number of smaller organisations across Europe.
Help

Eurostat

  • Coverage: Current
  • Access: Freely Available
  • Purchased By: Free
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union situated in Luxembourg, whose goal is to provide the European Union with statistics that enable comparisons between countries and regions. Their database contains a variety of information, including emissions, employment, demographics, economics, and geographic data for many of the EU's member nations.