link to University of Utah Home link to Marriott Library Home
Off Campus Access - Log In
Article Databases -- Marriott Library -- The University of Utah

Select Database by Title

C

For further assistance, consult a subject guide.

Help

CAB eBook Packages

  • Coverage: 20011-2014
  • Access: University of Utah
  • Purchased By: Marriott Library
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
The CABI eBook Packages contain a variety of ebooks published by the Centre for Agriculture and Biosciences International (CABI). The collection is covers a wide variety of topics in the fields of leisure & tourism, human health/food and nutrition, environmental sciences, plant sciences, agriculture, and animal and veterinary sciences.
Help

Cambridge Structural Database (WebCSD)

  • Coverage: Current
  • Access: University of Utah
  • Purchased By: Marriott Library
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
The Cambridge Structural Database (CSD) is a worldwide repository of small-molecule crystal structures developed and maintained by the Cambridge Crystallographic Data Centre (CCDC). This database records bibliographic, chemical and crystallographic information for organic molecules and metal-organic compounds. This link provides access to the web version of this repository, which is called WebCSD. WebCSD will work on almost any web browser or platform, but it is not as comprehensive as the client software. If you are simply looking up common structures for educational purposes the web version should suffice, but for more complex tasks you will want to use the desktop client. On the library's Windows computers, you can access the desktop client by navigating to Desktop --> Class Software --> CCDC. There is currently no client version for Mac OS X or Linux. For access outside the Marriott Library you will have to set up an account with the Center for High Performance Computing (CHPC). The CHPC Information Page for the CSDS provides information about the software. To set up an account, visit the CHPC Account Setup Page. For questions, call Daureen Nesdill at (801) 585-5975 or send an email to our science librarians.
Canadiana Reference Database
- See: OSH References Collection
Help

CCH Internet Tax Network

  • Coverage: Current
  • Access: University of Utah
  • Purchased By: Quinney Library
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
This database provides access to a variety of federal and state tax information. Subjects covered in the database include state and federal tax cases and rulings, tax reviews, international tax, accounting and audit, financial planning and estate planning. Also included are a collection of practice, organization and citation tools.
CCOHS Collection Search
- See: OSH References Collection

Center for Research Libraries

  • Coverage: Varies
  • Access: Freely Available
  • Purchased By: Marriott Library
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
CRL, a consortium of North American universities, colleges, and independent research libraries, acquires and preserves traditional and digital resources for research and teaching. This database contains approximately five million items, including a large circulating collection of newspapers, more than 38,000 foreign journals and 800,000 foreign dissertations, microfilm and paper collections from Africa, Latin America, Middle East, Europe, Asia, Southeast Asia, and more. The University of Utah membership entitles our faculty and students to borrow any CRL material at no charge. Patrons can search for items or collections on the CRL website and then request them via ILL.
Help

Ceramic Abstracts

  • Coverage: 1975 - Current
  • Access: University of Utah
  • Purchased By: University of Utah
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
This database provides access to over 3,000 periodicals, conference proceedings, technical reports, trade journal/newsletter items, patents, books, and press releases related to ceramics and the ceramics industry. Major areas of coverage include whitewares (tableware, sanitary-ware, tiles), functional, technical and advanced ceramics (electro-ceramics, engineering ceramics, composites), abrasives, building ceramics (bricks, pipes, roofing tiles, cement-based materials), refractories, glass, raw materials, ceramics processing and treatment, properties and testing, applications (e.g. bioceramics, automotive, aerospace, nuclear), commercial and economic information, legislation and standards, environmental and pollution information, metal-ceramic systems, and more.
Help

Chemical & Engineering News (C&EN) Online

  • Coverage: 1998 - Current
  • Access: University of Utah
  • Purchased By: Marriott Library
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
Chemical & Engineering News is a weekly magazine published by the American Chemical Society in which editors and reporters cover events in the science and technology, business and industry, government and policy, education, and employment aspects of the chemistry field. C&EN Online offers recent news, supplementary material to C&EN print articles, back issues of the magazine since 1998, and features such as Reel Science, NanoFocus, RSS feeds, and blogs.
Help

CHEMINDEX

  • Coverage: Current
  • Access: University of Utah
  • Purchased By: Marriott Library
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
The CHEMINDEX is a tool for finding information on over 200,000 distinct chemical substances in the CCOHS database collection. Patrons can search on CAS registry numbers, chemical names or name fragments. CAS registry numbers, chemical names and synonyms are extracted from a variety of sources such as CHEMINFO, RTECS®, HSDB®, and DSL/NDSL. This tool can be useful for discovering which databases contain information about a given chemical, finding similarities between chemicals, and exploring general chemical data.
Help

CHEMINFO

  • Coverage: Current
  • Access: University of Utah
  • Purchased By: Marriott Library
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
This database offers chemical health and safety information for more than 1,700 important workplace chemicals. Each chemical profile contains detailed evaluation and description of health, fire and reactivity hazards, control measures, and hazard classifications, including WHMIS, OSHA and the European Union (EU). CHEMINFO also provides recommendations on safe work practices, handling and storage, personal protective equipment, accidental release, and first aid. Patrons can use CHEMINFO to conduct workplace hazard assessments, prepare chemical-specific training tools for a right-to-know program, evaluate information provided on MSDSs, write MSDSs, develop respiratory protection and other PPE programs, assist emergency responders, and develop first aid and medical programs.
Help

CHEMnetBASE

  • Coverage: Varies
  • Access: University of Utah
  • Purchased By: Marriott Library
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
The collection centers around reference handbooks for chemists. It includes CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, Combined Chemical Dictionary, Dictionary or Organic Compounds, specialized dictionaries, Properties of Organic Compounds and Polymers: A property Database. Note: The CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is continuously updated. If you are having trouble finding information it may be in an earlier edition. A summary of changes to the database is also available.
Help

Chicago Manual of Style

  • Coverage: Current
  • Access: University of Utah
  • Purchased By: Marriott Library
  • Maximum Users: 25
The Chicago Manual of Style serves as a general guide to many aspects of English style, grammar, and punctuation and is often looked to as a standard reference in publishing. The Manual presents two basic documentation systems - the humanities style (notes and bibliography) and the author-date system. Choosing between the two often depends on the subject matter and nature of sources cited, as each system is favored by different disciplines.
Help

Chicano Database

  • Coverage: 1967 - Current
  • Access: University of Utah
  • Purchased By: Marriott Library
  • Maximum Users: 5
This database contains many types of material on Mexican-American topics, Chicanos, and the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants. The collection focuses on subjects relating to art, bilingual education, health, history, labor, language, literature, mental health, and politics. There are over 2000 journals and 60,000 records in the database, covering these topics from the late 1960's to the present.
Help

China Data Online

  • Coverage: Current
  • Access: University of Utah
  • Purchased By: Marriott Library
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
User Registration Required for Some Features (Free)

This database provides users with access to a variety of information related to China collected by the University of Michigan's China Data Center and the All China Market Research Company. Users can browse or search through data related to China's monthly and yearly macro-economic statistics, city and county information, industrial statistics, various statistical yearbooks, monthly reports on China's economic development, and Chinese census and survey data. Statistics can also be browsed on a map, providing users with a way to quickly compare statistics between regions in China.
Help

CIA World Factbook

  • Coverage: Current
  • Access: Freely Available
  • Purchased By: Free
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
The CIA World Factbook is a publication of the United States Government that provides data on over 250 countries, including maps and flags, geographic data, population overviews, government data, economic summaries, as well as communication, transportation, military, and transnational issue information. Information on the Factbook's website is updated frequently, and all information contained in the database is in the public domain (as it is a work of the United States Government).

CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online

  • Coverage: 1991 - Current
  • Access: University of Utah
  • Purchased By: Marriott Library
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is a comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a range of scholarship from 1991 on that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences. CIAO is also a source for teaching materials including original case studies written by international affairs experts, course packs of background readings for history and political science classes, and a variety of other materials. All sections of CIAO are updated monthly.
Help

CINAHL

  • Coverage: 1983 - Current
  • Access: UALC
  • Purchased By: UALC
  • Maximum Users: 20
The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) database contains more than 200,000 citations from 1983 to present with abstracts to articles published in more than 650 English-language nursing and allied health journals as well as virtually all publications of the American Nurses' Association and the National League for Nursing. The database also includes the pre-CINAHL file, which makes current awareness items available while they are in the process of being added to the main CINAHL file.
CISTI Electronic Journals
- See: NRC Research Press
Help

Classic Mexican Cinema

  • Coverage: Current
  • Access: University of Utah
  • Purchased By: Marriott Library
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
This collection is focused on popular movie periodicals from the Golden Age of Mexican Cinema. It includes magazines such as Cinema Reporter (1943-1965) and Cine Mundial (1954-1955), rare copies of El Cine Gráfico from 1935 and the weekly El Mundo Ilustrado (1902-1910), dozens of film flyers, the personal scrap books of Fernando de Fuentes (1894-1958), reviews, movie stills, programs, and advertisements. The sources in this collection were previously accessible only in the archives of the Filmoteca de la UNAM in Mexico City. The database is targeted at scholars and researchers working on film and media studies, Latin American studies, and other aspects of the historical, social, and political impact of cinema.
Help

Classical Music Library

  • Coverage: Varies
  • Access: University of Utah
  • Purchased By: Marriott Library
  • Maximum Users: 3
Classical Music Library is a large, multi-label database of Classical music recordings for listening and learning in libraries. The growing collection of 60,000-plus tracks includes recordings from many of the world's labels including Hyperion, Bridge Records, Sanctuary Classics, Artemis-Vanguard, Hänssler Classic, Vox and many others. Coverage includes music written from early time periods (e.g. Gregorian Chant) to the present, including many contemporary composers. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera.
Help

Cochrane Library

  • Coverage: 1988 - Current
  • Access: University of Utah
  • Purchased By: Eccles Library
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of information on healthcare decision-making. The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews contains systematic reviews in health care, including all Cochrane Reviews (and protocols) prepared by Cochrane Review Groups in The Cochrane Collaboration. The Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE) contains abstracts of systematic reviews that have been quality-assessed. Each abstract includes a summary of the review together with a critical commentary about the overall quality. The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) includes details of published articles taken from bibliographic databases (notably MEDLINE and EMBASE), and other published and unpublished sources. CENTRAL records include the title of the article, information on where it was published (bibliographic details) and, in many cases, a summary of the article. CENTRAL records do not contain the full text of the article. The Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR) is a bibliography of publications that report on methods used in the conduct of controlled trials. It includes journal articles, books, and conference proceedings, and the content is sourced from MEDLINE and hand searches. CMR records contain the title of the article, information on where it was published (bibliographic details), and, in some cases, a summary of the article. CMR records do not contain the full text of the article. The Health Technology Assessment (HTA) Database brings together details of completed and ongoing health technology assessments (studies of the medical, social, ethical, and economic implications of healthcare interventions) from around the world. The NHS Economic Evaluation Database (EED) identifies economic evaluations from around the world, appraising their quality and highlighting their relative strengths/weaknesses.
Help

CogNet

  • Coverage: Varies
  • Access: University of Utah
  • Purchased By: Marriott Library
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
MIT CogNet is an online location for the brain and cognitive science community’s scientific research and interchange. It provides resources for those interested in primary research across the range of fields concerned with understanding the nature of the human mind, such as artificial intelligence, linguistics, neuroscience, psychology, philosophy and education. The database's collection includes electronic books, journals, conference proceedings, calls for papers and grey literature. CogNet provides searchable access to ten major reference works published by the MIT Press, over 530 MIT Press books in full-text PDF, the full text of six MIT Press journals, and abstracts from more than 25 journals from other publishers like Cambridge University Press, the British Psychological Society, Kingston Press, Ltd., and Lawrence Erlbaum Associates.

CollegeMedia

  • Coverage: Current
  • Access: University of Utah
  • Purchased By: Free
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
The Utah Education Network's Digital Media Service (which CollegeMedia is a part of) is a digital media repository filled with video and other educational media that is free for Utah's educators, students and citizens. The Digital Media Service allows users to search for content, preview it and then download the media for on-demand use. The digital repository includes videos licensed by the Utah Instructional Media Consortium, local programs from KUED-7, National PBS programs, as well as media from other trusted education partners. Access to certain parts of the collection (including CollegeMedia) is limited to those with a valid Utah higher education institution email address. You may request a username and password to this database for free.
Colloquium Collection
- See: Synthesis Collection
Help

ComAbstracts (+ ComIndex)

  • Coverage: Varies
  • Access: UALC
  • Purchased By: UALC
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
This database provides access to the combined contents of ComIndex and ComAbstracts, provided by the Communication Institute for Online Scholarship (CIOS). The collection contains abstracts of articles published in the primary professional literature of the communications field, drawn from indexes of over 150 professional communication journals. In addition, articles from EJC/REC: The Electronic Journal of Communication / La Revue Electronique de Communication, the Journal of Communication and Religion and the International Journal of Listening can be accessed via the CIOS Web page.

ComAnalytics

  • Coverage: Current
  • Access: University of Utah
  • Purchased By: Marriott Library
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
ComAnalytics provides data about the relative publication performance of individual scholars and departments of communication (journalism, mass communication, speech, communication studies, media studies, rhetoric, etc.) in order to allow individuals or organizations to benchmark their own performance against others. ComAnalytics does this through a national system that covers the communication field, classifies the field's programs, and uses metrics validated against relevant external benchmarks (ISI journal impact ratings and rankings from the NCA of doctoral program reputation) to determine performance.
Help

Common Chemistry

  • Coverage: Current
  • Access: Freely Available
  • Purchased By: Free
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
This database contains the CAS Registry Number®, chemical names (both formal and common), molecular formulas, and structures or sequences for over 7800 chemicals of widespread general public interest. These substances are of global commercial use or importance and have been cited 1,000 or more times in the CAS Databases. Examples of substances included are aspirin, biotin, benzoyl peroxide, and boric acid. The Common Chemistry database also includes all 118 elements of the Periodic Table, although not all of the elements may meet the 1,000 references threshold. The database also features links to Wikipedia records (when available) that have been provided by the Wikipedia Chemicals WikiProject in collaboration with Chemical Abstracts Service.
Help

Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC)

  • Coverage: Varies
  • Access: UALC
  • Purchased By: Marriott Library
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
Communication & Mass Media Complete provides access to the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource for the communication disciplines. CMMC offers cover-to-cover (“core”) indexing and abstracts for more than 570 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 770 titles. This database includes full text for over 450 journals.
Help

Compendex Archive

  • Coverage: 1884-1969
  • Access: University of Utah
  • Purchased By: Marriott Library
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
Effective July 31st, 2013, Compendex is limited to archive-only access and is not updated with new information (see coverage date above for details). Access to current information in Compendex is available through Scopus.

Compendex is a bibliographic database of engineering research which contains over ten million references and abstracts taken from over 6,000 scholarly journals, trade magazines, conference proceedings and technical papers. The subjects covered by this database include nuclear technology, bioengineering, transportation, chemical and process engineering, light and optical technology, agricultural engineering and food technology, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, control, civil, mechanical, materials, petroleum, aerospace and automotive engineering as well as narrower subtopics within all these and other major engineering fields.
Help

Computer Source

  • Coverage: 1985 - Current
  • Access: UALC
  • Purchased By: Pioneer
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
This database contains nearly 300 full-text journals and magazines covering topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software. The collection focuses on providing researchers with the latest information and current trends in high technology.
Help

Computing Reviews

  • Coverage: Varies
  • Access: University of Utah
  • Purchased By: Marriott Library
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
Computing Reviews provides reviews of computer science literature and links directly to the full text of the items being reviewed. The site is updated daily and allows users to browse reviews within date ranges and subjects, create personalized filters for searches, and set up alerts to receive updates on topics or sources of interest.
Help

ComUpdate

  • Coverage: Varies
  • Access: Freely Available
  • Purchased By: Free
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
The ComUpdate system allows users to search for articles and book records that are added to CIOS databases, which are classified by staff using a controlled dictionary of classification terms developed through statistical study of the communication field's core literature. Examples of these terms include 'classical rhetoric', 'print journalism', 'computing', 'China' and many others. Users may select up to two of these classification terms (metaterms) and specify the time range of the search (to search, for example, only articles from the most recently added issue of each journal). Results are displayed in short summary form, with all the newly added records that have been classified using the terms selected in the search. The journal name, article title and authors, and the first sentence of the article abstract are displayed in a condensed newspaper format. Records found in ComUpdate that come from databases the library subscribes to will provide access to the full-text article. New article and book records are continually classified and added to CIOS databases throughout the year, and become searchable through ComUpdate shortly thereafter.
Help

Conference Papers Index

  • Coverage: 1982 - Current
  • Access: University of Utah
  • Purchased By: UALC
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
The Conference Papers Index database provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world. Subject emphasis since 1995 has been in the life sciences, environmental sciences and the aquatic sciences, while older material also covers physics, engineering and materials science. Information in this database is focused on the fields of Agriculture, Biochemistry, Chemistry, Chemical Engineering, Forestry, Biology, Environmental Science, Soil Science, Biotechnology, and Clinical Medicine.
Congressional Publications
- See: ProQuest Congressional Publications

Continental Rationalists

  • Coverage: Current
  • Access: University of Utah
  • Purchased By: Marriott Library
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
The Continental Rationalists database provides full-text access to a variety of works by Descartes, Leibniz, Spinoza, and others.
Help

Coptic Gnostic Library

  • Coverage: Varies
  • Access: University of Utah
  • Purchased By: Marriott Library
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
The Coptic Gnostic Library contains all the texts of the Nag Hammadi codices, both in the original Coptic and in translation. Each text has its own introduction, and full indexes are provided.
Help

Corrosion Abstracts

  • Coverage: 1980 - Current
  • Access: University of Utah
  • Purchased By: UALC
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
Corrosion Abstracts is an index of the world's technical literature on corrosion science and engineering, corrosion characteristics, preventive measures, materials construction and performance and equipment for many industries. Some of the specific topics covered by the database include Alloying, Atmospheric Corrosion, Cracking, Creep, Diffusion, Fatigue, Immersion, Inhibition, Microbiologically-Influenced Corrosion, Oxidation, Pitting, Theory and Data Interpretation, Welding, and more.
Help

Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference Works

  • Coverage: Current
  • Access: University of Utah
  • Purchased By: Marriott Library
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
This database provides access to a searchable collection containing real transcripts of therapy and counseling sessions and first-person narratives on the experience of mental illness and its treatment, as well as reference works to contextualize the primary material. New material is added on a regular basis - the database currently includes over 83,000 pages of material, including more than 20,000 pages of session transcripts, more than 37,000 pages of client narratives, and more than 25,000 pages of secondary reference material.
Help

CQ Researcher

  • Coverage: 1923 - Current
  • Access: UALC
  • Purchased By: UALC
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
The CQ Researcher publishes reports 44 times a year that offer in-depth single-topic coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Each CQ Researcher report is investigated and written by a seasoned journalist. Editors identify the topic to be investigated, then the writer conceives its content, formulating the key questions that it will seek to answer; reads background material; interviews a range of sources; synthesizes available information; and writes the report. The report's writer quotes a range of sources, including lawmakers, academics, interest group representatives, government officials as well as citizens involved in the issue. The report concludes with a bibliography that contains an annotated list of key sources.
Help

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics

  • Coverage: Current
  • Access: University of Utah
  • Purchased By: Marriott Library
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
The Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is a widely used source of data for chemists, physicists, and professionals in related fields. The Handbook is updated annually, and contains information on topics relevant to Chemistry and Physics, such as Fluid Properties, Biochemistry, Polymer Properties, Practical Laboratory Data, Thermochemistry, Electrochemistry, Kinetics, Symbols, Terminology, and Nomenclature, as well as many others. The website displays a list of new and revised tables for the current edition, and provides access to tools that help search the Handbook and enhance its functionality.

Credo Reference

  • Coverage: Varies
  • Access: University of Utah
  • Purchased By: Marriott Library
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
Credo Reference provides access to full-text, aggregated reference content covering a variety of major subject areas. The database contains well over 3,000,000 full-text entries in over 500 reference books, collected from more than 70 publishers. The entries are drawn from encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, quotations, and other sources. Credo is designed as a research tool and provides the ability to search, map, save, organize, and cross-reference the information in the collection.
Help

Criminal Justice Abstracts

  • Coverage: Varies
  • Access: University of Utah
  • Purchased By: Marriott Library
  • Maximum Users: Unlimited
Criminal Justice Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering areas related to criminal justice and criminology. The database includes more than 200,000 records drawn from hundreds of journals from around the world. Other features include searchable references for over 130 titles, and a Publications Authority of key titles.

J. Willard Marriott Library

Latest Tweets

Instagram Photo Stream

    Find the Marriott Library on: